5 Replies - 2339 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2011 - 01:17 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best Way to Create Tables?

Posted 03 November 2011 - 02:36 PM

After many searches online, I still can't determine what is the best practice for creating tables. Although CSS provides an elegant view, it seems that regular HTML tables are better for data retrieval from databases. I'm a novice when it comes to CSS and would gladly appreciate any type of idea or code that shows CSS Table Creations. This is not for homework or anything like that, but rather an interest for myself to become a better developer. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best Way to Create Tables?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Best Way to Create Tables?

Posted 03 November 2011 - 04:31 PM

These two tutorials will make you an expert in table creation: HTML and CSS.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Lurker
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 November 2011 - 04:51 PM

Hi,

I just want to stress that you should only use HTML tables for tabular data, and some people argue that even then it is not a good idea.

Never use tables for layout! I see allot of beginners do this and even see it taught in some web dev intro courses.

Lemur did a great writeup on tables you can find here - The Evil of Tables.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 November 2011 - 06:18 PM

I really appreciate the links guys. That's what I had been reading from sites I found that tables were good for tabular data, in addition, it has been so troublesome applying styles and JQuery to tables. So messy @_@. Thanks again.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 04 November 2011 - 09:51 AM