6 Replies - 1529 Views - Last Post: 07 November 2011 - 07:43 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Freelancing pays off

Posted 03 November 2011 - 10:21 PM

Having graduated in 2008 as a Programmer Analyst/Web Developer I've been on the constant lookout for job opportunities in the field. After many failed interviews and giving up on my search a few times, I decided to start freelancing this year to kick-start my career in the field. This would turn out to be the best move for my career and I recommend any prospective web developer to freelance. By freelancing you gain exposure to the industry and clients' needs. Having freelancing on your resume shows your employer that you have initiative and can take ownership of situations.

I'm happy to say that after freelancing my job search in IT has come to an end. I've been hired by a company in Toronto and due to start in the coming weeks. Freelancing and persistence pays off!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Freelancing pays off

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Freelancing pays off

Posted 04 November 2011 - 09:06 AM

Good to hear scentauri.

I recently went for a job interview and was turned down due to the lack of commercial experience.

I thought how can someone gain experience if no business is willing to give someone a job who has no experience. A vicious circle is a good way to put it.

I may start freelancing soon, and would like to ask you a few questions.

1. How much did you charge for a website? (basic 5-page)
2. When consulting with your client, did you supply them a number of templates to choose from?

Thanks,
Boy67
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 04 November 2011 - 10:03 AM

@scentauri: so what were you doing between 2008 and now? Who was paying your bills.