9 Replies - 2332 Views - Last Post: 13 November 2011 - 05:56 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Frustrated, never seem to get programming

Posted 05 November 2011 - 01:28 PM

When I was in middle school I started learning HTML, CSS, and a little bit of PHP and MYSQL just to get by (and apparently help other people with to some degree). I was self taught at the time and really enjoyed doing it, even when I got stuck with things like PHP/MYSQL.

I know web design isn't programming, but it's a step that some programmers are introduced to before realizing that they like programming. Because I enjoyed web design I decided to look into taking computer science classes in college. Prior to that, when I told my academic adviser about my background I was told "oh, none of that is real programming and I think you might be more suited for the humanities". I feel like every time I take a programming class whatever he said became true more so when I started taking those classes. Sometimes I wonder why I'm having such difficulty when it comes to programing and now I'm starting to assume it's because every class in my school's computer science department deals with a different language, and I need to spend more time with one language in order to understand the logic.