5 Replies - 817 Views - Last Post: 08 November 2011 - 02:52 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

About C++/Assembly Jobs

Posted 08 November 2011 - 10:29 AM

Hi guys,

I was thinking about, is there jobs of C++ or Assembly nowadays?

I ask this because I really like those two languages, but in my Country(Brazil) there's NO opportunities for those professionals, and when it appears, it's for seniors with at least 5 years of experience, I'm 20 years old and I have no professional experience, I'm worried about that because I'm"forced" to learn a similar language( C# ) to "survive".

This is just here or everywhere?

Thank you.

Willdvp

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: About C++/Assembly Jobs

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: About C++/Assembly Jobs

Posted 08 November 2011 - 11:06 AM

Have you checked out dice.com? They have a pretty varied assembly language subsection.

Side question - what's wrong with picking up another language if that gets you paid and building IT experience?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 lordofduct  Icon User is online

• I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 08 November 2011 - 11:09 AM

There's still quite a few jobs here in the states for that. But it's not in the RAD/Business software fields. And yes the positions usually expect a bit of experience.

Even though you may like C++ and the sort, you should definitely spread out and get a good knowledge in the high level as well. This can help you get experience in the field, but you can continue coding in C++ on your own projects or on open-source projects.

Assembly isn't a commonly asked for skill. Maybe the embedded markets sometimes, but something higher level like C is usually used instead. Assembly is more of a gold start now a days.

Of course niches exist in all sorts of areas.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon