5 Replies - 559 Views - Last Post: 11 November 2011 - 12:42 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

college advice

Posted 09 November 2011 - 11:00 PM

I'm looking for some advice, from people that may have more insight than myself.

I graduated high school last May, and I was/am a pretty good student. Due to lack of funds and motivation I decided that I would attend my local community college.

When I was signing up for school, I was faced with a dilemma. I could just go the general studies route and take cores for two years and then transfer, or I could take a CIS route and take programming classes along with some essential core classes. After a long four years of high school, I wanted the chance to study something that I was interested in and get in and out of school as quickly as possible. I chose the latter route.

Now I am enrolled and half way through the first semester. I'm having second thoughts. The idea of completing the degree and trying to get an entry level job are tempting, but I feel like I could do better. The classes aren't very challenging. I am easily completing all work with near perfect grades. I'm beginning to think that I would be better suited at a university computer science program.

I really just want to get a decent entry level job, but the more I hear, the more I think an AAS in CIS may be nearly worthless.

On the upside, some of my courses are transferable to a local state school. The cores and some of the general programming classes transfer easily. Some of the courses I am not really sure about ex: Introduction to OOP Programming.

I'm sorry this post is so long, but I'm not sure what to do. Would my time be well spent completing the Associate's program, or should I cut my losses and try to go to my local University?

If there are any questions or clarifications I would be happy to explain further. Thanks for any help.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: college advice

• spelling expret
  • member icon

• View blog