14 Replies - 2544 Views - Last Post: 18 November 2011 - 03:43 PM

• Still the sexiest mofo.
  • member icon

• View blog

Don't feel like doing homework? Post it on a freelance site</s

Posted 13 November 2011 - 11:45 AM

Below is a prime example of not only students in CS and IT industries but probably every industry today. I know we've seen examples of this on DIC but this kid actually admits it and pays someone to do it for him:

I am a student who does not feel like doing his homework. This is what my professor assigned:

The final character of a ten digit International Standard Book Number is a check digit computed so that multiplying each digit by its position in the number (counting from the right) and taking the sum of these products modulo 11 is 0. The furthest digit to the right (which is multiplied by 1) is the check digit, chosen to make the sum correct. It may need to have the value 10, which is represented as the letter X. For example, take the ISBN 0-201-53082-1. The sum of products is 0ื10 + 2ื9 + 0ื8 + 1ื7 + 5ื6 + 3ื5 + 0ื4 + 8ื3 + 2ื2 + 1ื1 = 99 0 modulo 11. So the ISBN is valid.
While this may seem more complicated than the first scheme, it can be validated very simply by adding all the products together then dividing by 11. The sum can be computed without any multiplications by initializing two variables, t and sum, to 0 and repeatedly performing t = t + digit; sum = sum + t; (which can be expressed in C as sum += t += digit;). If the final sum is a multiple of 11, then the ISBN is valid.