Programming, Careers, and Money

Looking for discussion on current/best languages

Page 1 of 1

10 Replies - 1663 Views - Last Post: 04 April 2007 - 02:49 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Programming, Careers, and Money

Posted 26 March 2007 - 08:35 AM

So I'm sure we've all asked this question before in one way or another, but I know the answer changes almost monthly as new technologies arise and die. Ultimately, everyone has their own opinion on whats best, but there's a underlying factor when it comes to programming, unless you're learning it for a hobby, you're probably using your knowledge to pay the rent... that is why, as a web programmer, I learned ASP even though i prefer PHP.

But now, as a web developer of 10 years, I'm realizing my field is being overrun by flash developers, and I just abhor creative sorts of things.

So, I pose a topic of questioning and discussion of this:

As a programmer who has focused on web development, I'm looking to get into software development.

So, as of now, what is the best programming language to begin to gain knowledge in for software development, based on future longevity (I realize this is only an opinion), popularity among companies, and revenue from knowledge?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming, Careers, and Money

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming, Careers, and Money

Posted 26 March 2007 - 08:39 AM

c++ seems to be the language to know. I think if you know any OOP languages you should be fine, cause they all are pretty much the same.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• CTO
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 26 March 2007 - 09:18 AM