8 Replies - 9332 Views - Last Post: 21 November 2011 - 07:50 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Application Architecture

Post icon  Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:11 PM

Hello All,

I am a self-taught programmer. I have been coding in VB for probably 6 years now, but have been devoted 100% for the last year. As the applications I am writing get larger and more complex, I am always trying to keep them as efficient as possible, but still always end up with a lot of spaghetti code.

What I am having a hard time with is the architecture of my windows forms applications. I have tried to find resources related to the 'best practices' but cannot find much that really helps me understand. I am trying to stick to the Logical N-Tier approach but I still have a lot to learn. The application I am currently working on is pretty complex and interfaces with multiple web services and MySQL databases. With this, I am finding it difficult to keep all my code in order.

I have two questions for anyone who will listen: First, how do you know what code to put on the form and what to seperate out into another class or module? How much seperation is too much?

Secondly, does anyone have any good references they have used to help understand proper application architecture?

This post has been edited by AdamSpeight2008: 16 November 2011 - 03:22 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Application Architecture

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Application Architecture

Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:40 PM

Great question.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 November 2011 - 06:17 PM

Sounds like you are using a procedural strategy when you approach your problems. Honestly it sounds like you would benefit from any Object Oriented book. Once you become more familiar with encapsulating logic in objects you will be off to a good start to learn layered architecture.

Books:
http://www.amazon.co...21319450&sr=8-3