2 Replies - 1425 Views - Last Post: 16 November 2011 - 02:30 PM

#1 jtahos  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 02-November 11

Setting up lookup wizard get fields from another table

Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:23 AM

Hello i'm a resturaunt manager tyring to get started with programing, could use some guidance. :/

I have set up 3 tables in Access
tbl_employee_info

Empioyee_ID
Emoployee_SName
Emoployee_FName
Emoployee_LName
Emoployee_Phone
Emoployee_Active

tbl_Position

Position_ID
Employee_Position
Employee_ID

tbl_Scedule

Employee_ID
Position_ID
DateIn
TimeIn
TimeOut
DateOut

Now i'm thinking of setting up the relations as 1-manny from employeeid in 1tbl to 2tbl
and then doing the same to 2tbl to 3tb.
My frrst question would be am i thinking corectly or is there a better way to do this. And then how do i set up a lookup-wizard to get the values of employees and position in the tbl_Scedule so there is no wrong info inputed into the dbs. I am trying to do this in Access 2010.

Thank you for you time and feedback.
John

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Setting up lookup wizard get fields from another table

#2 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6245
  • View blog
  • Posts: 24,013
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: Setting up lookup wizard get fields from another table

Posted 16 November 2011 - 08:04 AM

Moved to MS Access
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 June7  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 104
  • View blog
  • Posts: 904
  • Joined: 09-December 08

Re: Setting up lookup wizard get fields from another table

Posted 16 November 2011 - 02:30 PM

An employee can have only one position? If you don't care about employment history, just have a field in EmployeeInfo for the PositionID. Then have a table of PositionInfo (ID, Title, Description, Exempt/NonExempt). Schedule does not need PositionID.

Positions aren't scheduled, people are scheduled. Schedule should relate to Employee. Actually, if each employee can have only one schedule record, then these fields can also just be in EmployeeInfo.

If you do want to split up data, use form/subform arrangements to synchronize records and comboboxes to control user choices.

This post has been edited by June7: 16 November 2011 - 02:32 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1