10 Replies - 2928 Views - Last Post: 07 December 2011 - 10:51 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Video Editing

Posted 28 November 2011 - 12:24 PM

I picked up a job from a co-worker of mine, he is also a record producer. He's been doing concerts and such and he needs to expand. We have a team of 12 people for now and my responsibility is basically making videos of the songs. For now making a type of slideshow video is okay (until we actually start filming real video footage specifically for the song of choice). I will be using clips of the concerts as well. Anyways, my question is what programs do you guys suggest using? I have windows 7 and I'm not too sure what a good low-priced piece of software is.

I could google all day long and spending time downloading multiple programs and taking the time to install them just to find something that does not particularly work well (but I'm at work right now and don't have that luxury). Any suggestions from professionals? My background is mostly in programming and my co-worker asked me if I wanted to do this job, I agreed and now I just need some advice. I told him that I don't know much about video editing but he was okay with it, I told him I'd learn some things and come up with a demo video. I know how I want to make the video I just need some good video editing software, but $500 is my budget. I would use final cut pro... but that's for mac only. Sony Vegas is too expensive for my budget, any suggestions? I've used windows movie maker and it's too restricting and I can at best make only amateur looking videos. I do have Office Powerpoint for slideshows but I also want to add effects (perhaps the program will do all that for me and I will have no use for powerpoint). I've looked on these forums and haven't found much on video editing; maybe I have to go outside of this forum but I rather like this forum so hopefully there is someone who can give some advice, thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +