3 Replies - 2373 Views - Last Post: 01 December 2011 - 09:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How call a method on one form/class in another

Posted 01 December 2011 - 06:57 AM

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to C# so forgive me for the stupid question. I want to draw some graphics on my form when it loads. The graphics should be identical on each form.

My thoughts were to create a public method DrawGraphics on Main form and then call it on OnPaint Event on each form. It works fine on MainForm but it is not accessible on any other form.

I'm thinking in order for it to be used I would have to instanitate the mainform class. As I require having only a single instance(or is there any other reason I would not?) I tried to make the Main Form static.

This gives the errors:

Error 1 'ELTS_Rental_Station_1.frmMainScreen.frmMainScreen()': access modifiers are not allowed on static constructors

Error 2 An object reference is required for the non-static field, method, or property 'ELTS_Rental_Station_1.frmMainScreen.InitializeComponent()'

Any advice? Is these even the correct approach for drawing identical grpahics across forms in a project?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How call a method on one form/class in another

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How call a method on one form/class in another

Posted 01 December 2011 - 08:12 AM

Just a heads up - the C# programmers sub-forum is to discuss advanced and non-help related C# topics, so I bumped this up to the general help area.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 December 2011 - 09:36 AM

Welcome to C# programming. Its a fun realm to work in.