5 Replies - 391 Views - Last Post: 07 December 2011 - 08:11 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Writing Specs

Posted 02 December 2011 - 02:28 PM

I am an intern at a research company where I have been asked to write a Requirement Spec, Functionality Spec, and Design Spec for a project. I have not yet had the experience in creating these types of documents, so I was hoping someone could help to guide me in what types of things are included in each.

I am also working with another intern that disagrees with my ideas of what should go in each type. I have tried to google the differences and read to compare the three through wikipedia explanations, but to me the line seems blurry.

Clarification would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I don't know if this topic would be better placed in the software development forum, if so please feel free to move it.

This post has been edited by SpartanGuy07: 02 December 2011 - 02:30 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Writing Specs

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Writing Specs

Posted 02 December 2011 - 03:58 PM

Check with the person that gave you the assignment.

There are as many different ways to define and write these as there are companies that want them.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 05 December 2011 - 08:40 AM

That's kind of what I was thinking too. My manager said to get started and he will send a sample, but he has not sent a sample yet and it has been 3 days.

Thanks anyway.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 lordofduct  Icon User is online

• I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 December 2011 - 09:27 AM