9 Replies - 5564 Views - Last Post: 07 December 2011 - 09:14 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ruby vs Python

Post icon  Posted 06 December 2011 - 12:18 AM

I am a C# programmer interested in picking up a scripting language. I really don't know what I want to do in the future with a scripting language, but I'm curious and would like to try one out. You guys seems to be hard on people for asking specific questions, so I'll go overboard.
So, why did you choose ruby? Why not Python? How does Rails compare to Django? Is going from C# to one language to another easier? Is one better than the other for cryptography? Or math?
Are there any resources which you would recommend using? Do you recommend certain books or online tutorials? Should I download an IDE, or work out of a text editor (free is good)? What do I need to complete my ruby setup?
This is your opportunity to save another soul for your language.

Thanks for any answers to any of the above questions. I am looking forward to trying life without a compiler!

This post has been edited by Skaggles: 06 December 2011 - 03:47 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Ruby vs Python

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Ruby vs Python

Posted 06 December 2011 - 07:43 AM

POPULAR

View Postmuricula, on 06 December 2011 - 12:18 AM, said:

So, why did you choose ruby? Why not Python?

Both are very readable, very flexible and dynamic languages, I would say the similarities far outweigh the differences.

But since we are making a comparison, in my eyes the main differences are.

The python developers believe there should be one-- and preferably only one --obvious way to do it. Mind this is not a strict rule, in programming there are always many ways to accomplish the same thing but in Python one way will stand out as the most typically python.