13 Replies - 1287 Views - Last Post: 12 December 2011 - 04:21 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Choosing a Language && (Game Programming)

Posted 11 December 2011 - 05:33 PM

Hey thanks for checking out my question

please help me select the best game engine / language to program in based on the following
I am about to write a game in flash but If anyone has alternatives which may offer similar ease in designing the graphics and simplicity to write code

for what I want to do I would like a relatively large world and may require faster code for the gamers to enjoy

This is going to be my first time writing a game(besides example games from books)... but I am an intermediate-advanced level programmer... the graphical design is mostly my downfall (cool looking characters and their movements etc)

in the end I really dont mind if the game is on the web or a desktop game or both.. I have big ideas however and its going to be a large and adventurous game

Thanks again!

PS: I know c,c++,c#,java, python, flash, and lots of others etc so i'm really open to ideas and game engines to learn (but I really would prefer ones that allow you to push forward fast with your concepts which is how I interpret flash to be)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Choosing a Language && (Game Programming)

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Choosing a Language && (Game Programming)

Posted 11 December 2011 - 06:00 PM

I don't get it:

1. You know a variety of languages.
2. You claim to be and intermediate to advanced level programmer.

Yet you cannot work out which languages and tools to use to make a game according to your requirements?!
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 11 December 2011 - 06:19 PM

View PostButchDean, on 11 December 2011 - 06:00 PM, said:

I don't get it:

Yet you cannot work out which languages and tools to use to make a game according to your requirements?!