4 Replies - 4290 Views - Last Post: 15 December 2011 - 11:20 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

problem with c# database login

Posted 14 December 2011 - 03:36 PM

Hey all,

I'm having an issue with a piece of code that has been continuously perplexing me and I'm finally breaking down and asking for a bit of help. I am trying to create an ASP.NET application with C# as the code behind language. (Please keep in mind that I am fairly new to ASP.NET and somewhat new to C#.) I am trying to code the Authentication event for the Login control and am getting hung up. In my code below, I am using bits of sample code found various places on the web and tweaked it for my application. Where I am getting hung up is the
object obj = m_Command.ExecuteScalar();

line. Whenever I run the code, it gets to this point and fails. I have added the Message Boxes purely for debugging purposes but cannot figure out why that line is failing.

I am running this on Windows 7 x64, Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2, Visual Studio 2010.

Any helpful thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Here is the code:
private bool DBValidate(string uName, string pWord)
        {
            MessageBox.Show("Hello");
            //bool bflag = false;
            string connString = System.Configuration.ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings["Connection"].ConnectionString;
            MessageBox.Show("Connection String: " + connString);    
            //"Server=(local)\\Development;Database=InventoryTracker;Uid=sa;Pwd=trinity;";
            string strSQL = "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM tblUsers WHERE (tblUsers.username = '" + uName + "') AND (tblUsers.password = " + pWord + ")";
            MessageBox.Show(strSQL);
            SqlConnection m_conn = new SqlConnection(connString);
            SqlCommand m_Command = new SqlCommand(strSQL);
            try
            {
                //m_Command.CommandType = System.Data.CommandType.Text;
                m_conn.Open();