7 Replies - 2592 Views - Last Post: 20 December 2011 - 12:56 PM

• Coding Dynamo
  • member icon

• View blog

Linux Mint Dev Tools

Posted 15 December 2011 - 10:56 AM

So I recently decided to try out linux, and I found this Great distro called 'Mint', it is said that it's like ubuntu just better, so I made a live cd (on a usb) and tried it out. It seemed nice...

So what are the linux development tools? (For C#)

And please express your thoughts on linux mint, or if you know a better distro please tell me.

I'm new to linux (been a windows user for my whole life)

This post has been edited by RexGrammer: 15 December 2011 - 10:56 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Linux Mint Dev Tools

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is online

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Linux Mint Dev Tools

Posted 15 December 2011 - 11:04 AM

POPULAR

View PostRexGrammer, on 15 December 2011 - 12:56 PM, said:

And please express your thoughts on linux mint, or if you know a better distro please tell me.

Ugh, this again.

Do you know why Mint is different than Ubuntu? Because it comes with different software. That's all that distributions are, different software packages, with the Linux kernel.

No Linux distribution is truly better than the next. It's subjective to the end user, by relevance & convenience.

If you can't say why Mint is better than Ubuntu, then how is anyone else to suggest something better for you?

As for C#, it's a Microsoft technology. Best you can do is Mono, which is not C#, but it's a best effort to port it to Linux.
Was This Post Helpful? 5
  • +
  • -

• Coding Dynamo
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 December 2011 - 11:14 AM