10 Replies - 775 Views - Last Post: 19 December 2011 - 08:00 AM

• D.I.C Addict

Work Experience on a Resume

Posted 15 December 2011 - 01:05 PM

I am looking to put my resume out some sites like Dice and such since I have been working in IT for a couple years now and the contract is coming up in a couple months. I will probably be rehired by whoever picks it up but it doesn't hurt to see what else is available. Here is my issue. I have had only one IT job and my other experience is all automotive related. A couple of the jobs are management positions. I don't plan on looking for a management posistion at this point in IT. Should I include those jobs within the last five years on my resume or just limit it to my IT skills? Also, should I include some of my more complex personal projects and apps on the Android marketplace. When I apply for specific job I always customize my resume and if they just want "relevant" work experience I only include the IT stuff. Just wondering about a general resume that is posted for employers to review in mass? Should I pack it full of everything or trim it down to just relevant IT stuff?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Work Experience on a Resume

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Work Experience on a Resume

Posted 15 December 2011 - 01:10 PM

When in doubt put your complete history. Hell there are somethings on my "ten year" resume that are 'phone jocky' in bound telemarketing gigs...

Unless you have a portfolio (online) for your personal apps I would probably stick to pointing to your android apps.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 December 2011 - 12:08 PM