6 Replies - 540 Views - Last Post: 24 December 2011 - 06:39 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advice on asp.net

Posted 19 December 2011 - 04:36 PM

How much C# is needed to know to be able to build a site in asp.net? such as an e-commerce site or a forum, blog etc? I have some php and mysql knowledge. but want to learn asp.net because there is more jobs wanting that skill where I live.

I have a few days off before Christmas and was thinking off doing a lynda video tut on asp.net called ASP.NET Essential Training and then maybe reading a pro asp.net book.

is this the right way to go about it? how did you learn asp.net/C#

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice on asp.net

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Advice on asp.net

Posted 20 December 2011 - 06:03 AM

Should be pretty straight forward for you if you have some existing knowledge of web technologies, it's not hard to build a basic website in ASP I think you could get one up within a week of starting. Naturally would take a lot longer to master ASP!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:39 PM

I have started some C# and straight away thought this is easy! although I never done OOP with php so I want to learn that in C# but im getting bored of doing silly console examples in C# and I have tried a few books but they read like dictionary's so they get dull so I am now bored.

That's why im thinking shall I just learn asp.net so I can do web projects and learn that way. (Im a web Designer and Frontend Dev so Console apps don't excite me)

how did you learn asp.net?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 21 December 2011 - 09:44 AM

I read through half of, Visual Web: Programming in C# and worked along with the exercises. Then got bored so I started on my own project and used google to find out how to do anything I needed as I went.