12 Replies - 1516 Views - Last Post: 27 December 2011 - 05:06 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How can I learn this stuff?

Posted 26 December 2011 - 07:32 AM

I've been studying programming in my free time for several years. I feel I have a thorough understanding of syntax and logic in several different languages. If I have the right input, I can almost always create the right output. So, I thought my studies going pretty well. Lately though, somethings been gnawing at me:

I don't really know how to make my programs do things.

I get by fine with interpreted languages like AS3 or Java, that come with a built in API for most things you'd want to do, but I never got past the "Hello World" console stage in languages like C++.

I'm completely clueless about so many aspects of what a computer does. I know nothing about working with hardware or operating systems. It's extremely frustrating that I often don't even have to vocabulary to express my questions. I don't know how to show graphics, play sound, act as a webserver, collect mouse input, or any of that stuff.

If I search for things like these, and I'm lucky, I'll get some libraries that supposedly do these tasks, which is another thing I don't understand how to do. However, there are no beginner's introductions to these things that I can see. I don't really know what I expect as an answer to this post, mostly I needed to get it off my chest after many nights of fruitless searching. I guess I'm asking if anyone can recommend some good books or tutorials on hardware, operating systems, or whatever I'm getting at here?

I would really appreciate it if someone could help get me out of this rut.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How can I learn this stuff?

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: How can I learn this stuff?

Posted 26 December 2011 - 07:44 AM