McAfee or Norton?

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

15 Replies - 1947 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2012 - 09:09 AM

#1 Glorfindal  Icon User is offline

  • Java Enthusiast
  • member icon

Reputation: 23
  • View blog
  • Posts: 539
  • Joined: 31-December 08

McAfee or Norton?

Posted 26 December 2011 - 11:30 AM

I am trying to figure out which one is better right now. I have both and I want to just switch to one because it would save money. So basically which one is better at protecting your computer from viruses? What anti-virus software you do use? :)
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: McAfee or Norton?

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5364
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,325
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 26 December 2011 - 11:38 AM

I sell Comodo to my customers for $50 a year.

It comes with a $500 warranty against future infections. It's a smaller footprint than McAfee or Norton, & I much more prefer the firewall over anything they offer as well.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#3 jjsaw5  Icon User is offline

  • I must break you
  • member icon

Reputation: 90
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,060
  • Joined: 04-January 08

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 26 December 2011 - 08:21 PM

I've never heard of that no2pencil I'll have to check it out

This post has been edited by jjsaw5: 26 December 2011 - 08:23 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5364
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,325
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 26 December 2011 - 08:22 PM

Let me know if you are interested in registering it.

I'll run a Dream In code discount ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Amatore  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: 27-December 11

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 27 December 2011 - 01:25 PM

I have been using McAfee for 4 years now, and have had no problems since installation. Before McAfee I used Norton and I was not so lucky with that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 AlbuquerqueApache  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 49
  • View blog
  • Posts: 523
  • Joined: 21-February 10

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 28 December 2011 - 11:04 AM

KI just switched to kaspersky! had I known domeone from D.I.C had their own, I would of bought it instead.....


:(

...thanks for telling me guys!

This post has been edited by AlbuquerqueApache: 28 December 2011 - 11:04 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 ParkourMan  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 28-December 11

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 28 December 2011 - 07:43 PM

I could never stand the interfaces of Norton or McAfee long enough to stick with them for a while, so I don't know which one's better. BitDefender is what I used for quite a while, but now I'm using Avast to save money.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 calvinthedestroyer  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 167
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,911
  • Joined: 13-October 07

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 02 January 2012 - 11:50 AM

Right now I go with nothing, the home PC's are in peaces on the floor next to me. I have used Norton and Mcafee and they both sucked (used them back in 1990 to 2000). I still caught viruses even with their protection.

I currently use Avast since none of my systems are a permanent fixture right now.

No2Pencil: That Comodo comes with A warranty right?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 TechMan100  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 04-March 09

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 05 January 2012 - 02:09 PM

I can't stand Symantec or McAfee products.

I use to use Comodo also but my customers were finding it to involved so I switched over to selling Panda. You can get the whole suite for up to 3 computers for about $50.

Let me know if you want to check it out and I'll send you a link.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9392
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,273
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 05 January 2012 - 02:31 PM

Has panda cleaned up their act or is their program still crap? The last time I futzed with Panda it couldn't find jack for virus or spyware.

https://shop.pandasecurity.com/
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 josiahmahar  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 14-October 10

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 08:31 PM

hmm last i checked mcafee and norton were not good. after reading reviews about panda i didn't bother with it i haven't heard of comodo personally i use trend micro it has been working great for me.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Lemur  Icon User is online

  • Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon


Reputation: 1377
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,503
  • Joined: 28-November 09

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:23 PM

Norton should be classified as a virus itself for how danged annoying it is if you manage to outlive your license. McAfee has earned my wrath by failing to detect uncountable amounts of viruses on my grandmothers computer on numerous occasions. AVG is installing crapware along with itself, and it used to be one of my gotos for a freeware.

My list of tops:
> Bit Defender
> Nod32
> Avast

Malware Bytes is another great one to look into.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 nooblet  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 120
  • View blog
  • Posts: 541
  • Joined: 12-March 10

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 16 January 2012 - 05:53 PM

Just saw this today: http://news.cnet.com...g=2547-1_3-0-20
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5364
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,325
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 16 January 2012 - 06:14 PM

1.7gb of source code?! No wonder that software is piss slow.

Releasing it could be the best thing to happen. I bet a lot of people fix that pos software.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Atli  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3719
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,991
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: McAfee or Norton?

Posted 16 January 2012 - 06:17 PM

It's apparently the source for a 6 year old version of Norton, that has been completely rewritten. A waste of time, really.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2