6 Replies - 1127 Views - Last Post: 02 January 2012 - 04:03 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Syntax error in my INSERT INTO statement dont know why

Posted 27 December 2011 - 05:04 PM

hey guys I been trying to work out why ive been getting syntax error and i cant seem to find out why. ive been using vb for about a year now so im still learning!! please please help me

Dim DB_Name As String
Dim SQL_Str As String
Dim Conn As ADODB.Connection
Dim ctl As Control

'Get the data
DB_Name = App.Path
If Right$(DB_Name, 1) <> "" Then DB_Name = DB_Name & ""
DB_Name = DB_Name & "Users.mdb"
'Open a connection.
Set Conn = New ADODB.Connection

Conn.ConnectionString = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.JET.OLEDB.4.0;" & _
                   "DATA SOURCE=" & App.Path & "\Users.mdb;" & _
                   "PERSIST SECURITY INFO=FALSE;"

Conn.Open
'Compose the INSERT statement.
strSQL = "insert into Users (UserName, PassWord) values (" _
& "'" & txtname & "', " _
& "'" & txtSurname & "') "

'strSQL = App.Path
'Execute the statement.
Conn.Execute strSQL, objADOCon
'Close the connection.
Conn.Close

'Clear the TextBoxes.

For Each ctl In Controls
If TypeOf ctl Is TextBox Then
ctl.Text = ""
End If
Next ctl

MsgBox ("YEHAHAHAHAHAHAH")

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Syntax error in my INSERT INTO statement dont know why

• Critical Section
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Syntax error in my INSERT INTO statement dont know why

Posted 27 December 2011 - 05:29 PM

Looking at this part:

And I am guessing that txtname and txtSurname are textBoxes, and so you will need their Text properties to be passed there. So you will need txtSurname.Text and so.
I used Text because itt looks like vb.net because you used text at
ctl.Text = ""

This post has been edited by smohd: 27 December 2011 - 05:31 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 28 December 2011 - 06:48 AM