13 Replies - 4322 Views - Last Post: 04 January 2012 - 08:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 madmorgan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: 07-May 10

Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 29 December 2011 - 07:19 AM

Hello All,

I have been looking on google for some time now trying to work out a way where I can cust create some virtual dvd drives and then mount a iso to them but fining it hard to locate any good information. Im looking for a API or a wrapper or any bit of code that anyone has to this problem or any idears or work arounds.

Thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Mount ISO's programmatically

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,859
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 29 December 2011 - 07:57 AM

Go to Slysoft.com

Download "Virtual Clone Drive" and install it.

Mount your ISOs
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 madmorgan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: 07-May 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 29 December 2011 - 08:07 AM

but that then needs a user to interact with that software when I want my application to create virtual drives as and when it's need.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 6066
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,526
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 29 December 2011 - 08:20 AM

First hit in a Google search of "C# mount iso".
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 RexGrammer  Icon User is offline

  • Coding Dynamo
  • member icon

Reputation: 182
  • View blog
  • Posts: 782
  • Joined: 27-October 11

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 29 December 2011 - 11:40 AM

Consider using the Nero Lite SDK...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,859
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 29 December 2011 - 12:09 PM

I'm curious what your need for this is. I've never needed my apps to mount an ISO on the fly so was just wondering.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 madmorgan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: 07-May 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:23 AM

the reason im doing this is for work we want to create a custome application, our server holds loads of iso short films we have created a sort of media player application but we want to add the function where the user selects a film(ISO) and then the application tells the server to mount that film and then the application plays that film from the server.

Thanks

This post has been edited by madmorgan: 02 January 2012 - 08:27 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,859
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:36 AM

I would assume the .iso is therefore a very high resolution video. Presenting that over the internet/network is problematic at best.

Frankly I would suggest transcoding web-resolution versions in conventional formats like .mov, .mp4, .avi then transmitting those.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 madmorgan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: 07-May 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:47 AM

at work the speed is not to much of a problem we have a 1GB network set up and its going to be internal only the reason we went for ISO format was to save space on the server. I did look into that nero SDK link but Im finding it not to too good. I was thinking of using demon tools lite and try to build a dll to create dos command lines and then read the resuilting streams back and do some logic on them if error or success. But if any one know any other SDK then please let me know.

This post has been edited by tlhIn`toq: 02 January 2012 - 08:53 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,859
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:55 AM

What is the format of the video on the .iso? .iso just tells us the disk image format but nothing about the video itself.

Is it a set-top DVD image for example? Or is it a data disc with several .avi files on it?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 madmorgan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: 07-May 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:00 AM

ah sorry I for got to tell you that, the ISO file contails a proper dvd image like a set top dvd film you would buy from a dvd shop. we use Direct X to load the films in the application. BUT that moves that are 'unisoed' on my builder system for testing while creating the application. if I got the program to unzip the iso's it would slow do the hole appilcation to much henze why I would like to try and mount it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,859
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:05 AM

My suggestion would be to load Slysoft's Virtual Drive software.
http://www.slysoft.c...clonedrive.html

Then all you have to do is start a new Process with the path to the file.
http://msdn.microsof...t(v=vs.71).aspx

This will mount the .iso on a virtual drive... L: for example.
Then you can use standard .NET drive command to later 'eject' it.

This should reduce the load on your software. It isolates the mounting and you can run your software with real or virtual discs in nearly identical manners.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 madmorgan  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: 07-May 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:10 AM

Ok seems to be the only way then. Thanks for the help.

you dont know the commad line swichs for slysoft virtual drive.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 lordofduct  Icon User is offline

  • I'm a cheeseburger
  • member icon


Reputation: 2534
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,633
  • Joined: 24-September 10

Re: Mount ISO's programmatically

Posted 04 January 2012 - 08:43 AM

Why does it have to be mounted? Why not just read the iso file.

Think like VLC, VLC doesn't actually mount any disks to my computer when I play an iso. It does it all itself in memory, reading the disk. Not sure exactly what it does, but no 'virtual disk' appears in my media (not in linux, or in windows).

VLC is also opensource... you can download their source and see how they do it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1