2 Replies - 14437 Views - Last Post: 29 December 2011 - 09:57 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to find time complexity of an algorithm

Posted 29 December 2011 - 08:21 PM

hi to everyone.

i'm currently a student and i'm studying computer science and engineering so we are learning about algorithms but i'm in hard time and can't understand clearly how to find complexity time of a algorithm

here i have one example:

begin
Input: n(pos. Integer)
Output: y(pos. Integer)
Other: x,z(pos. Integer)

x:= 2*n
y := 0;
    while x>0 do
       y:=y+1;
          z:=0;
    while z<2 do
    x := x - 1;
    z := z+1;
end

Can someone tell me how to find time complexity for this code or to any other algorithm ??

Thanks!
help is appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to find time complexity of an algorithm

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to find time complexity of an algorithm

Posted 29 December 2011 - 09:34 PM

Well, I don't think a forum is the right place to look for a thorough understanding of complexity Many volumes have been written on the subject. I suggest you get your hands on "Introduction to Algorithms" by Cormen & Leiserson for a good introduction to this topic.

As for the example you posted -- there seems to be an error. If the input n is greater than 0, the first while loop will never terminate. It only makes sense if the second while loop is enclosed within the first one. If that's the case, you have to analyze how many operations will be performed in relation to the size of the input n. That entails considering how many operations (comparisons, arithmetic operations, and assignments) are performed by the algorithm. When loops are involved you have to consider the number of operations in each iteration of each loop, multiplied by the number of iterations.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to find time complexity of an algorithm