Am I good at programming?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

33 Replies - 8502 Views - Last Post: 07 May 2014 - 09:17 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Am I good at programming?

Posted 30 December 2011 - 06:05 PM

I started programming about 20 years ago, and I've been at my current job for 10 years. I have formal education, but not in CS, and I taught myself programming. I have always wondered if I am good at programming, or not, and never was able to find out. I feel that, over the years, I have learned a lot and my understanding continually improves. However, my manager, who I have worked for about 6 years, suddenly decided I am no good and wants to fire me. I don't know if it's because he is 30 and I am 60, or if it's because I really am no good, after all these years of programming every day.

The languages and frameworks and databases we use at this company all changed in recent years, and most things I knew became obsolete, but I don't think I have a lot of trouble learning the new stuff. Being older does, possibly, make us want to stay with what we already know well, rather than constantly change. Still, I think my manager is being unfair.

I want to keep my job, since I am too old to get another. I want to find out if my manager is right about me being no good. Is there any kind of programming ability test I could take? I always loved programming and always felt I had a natural ability for it.

It's true that the young guys where I work learned the new stuff faster, but I think it was because the manager gave them all the good projects. He probably finds it easier to work with guys his own age. Also, I am the only female programmer there.

I want to find out if I am any good, and I want to convince my manager that I am. Thanks for any advice or ideas.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Am I good at programming?

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Am I good at programming?

Posted 30 December 2011 - 06:08 PM