8 Replies - 2751 Views - Last Post: 04 January 2012 - 06:25 AM

#1 Holden117  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 543
  • Joined: 16-February 08

CPU clocking

Posted 31 December 2011 - 12:44 AM

Alright so my CPU is set to run at 1.75 ghz when I have a Dell duo core 2.5 ghz CPU. (sorry if that seems redundant) So what Im attempting to do it go into my Bios and change the clock speed. I have a Dell A11 bios on a Dell XPS m1730. I looked all over Dells site and did not find anything. Also The bios is up to date for the machine.



I am running Windows vista as my laptop does not support Windows 7 due to drivers. I had a friend tell me to unlock the Bios through CMD??? He is looking for the command as he works for geek squad.


More or less what Im asking for is if anyone knows how to change the clock speed.

Thank you in advance and happy new years to you all.

(let me know if you all need more info, I will be happy to give it)

This post has been edited by Holden117: 31 December 2011 - 12:46 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: CPU clocking

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8915
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,429
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:51 AM

First, why is your cpu so far under clocked for your Dell XPS m1730?!
Second, why are you running an A11's bios on your Dell XPS m1730?
Third, can your chip even *BE* clocked differently?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Atli  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3710
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,958
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:53 AM

Mobile CPUs tend to have a more dynamic clock speed than their PC counterparts. They'll down-clock when the CPU is mostly idle to save power. Have you tried looking through the Power Options control panel to see if this is happening? It's also possible that you have software tailored to your laptop made by it's manufacturer.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 calvinthedestroyer  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 167
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,908
  • Joined: 13-October 07

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 02 January 2012 - 12:30 PM

First of all, I wouldn't ask geek squad, that's like asking my mom to fix my computer.

Check on what Atli said to see how your power management setting are.

Then check your BIOS by:
Rebooting your computer by turning it off then back on.
WATCH for a message that says something like "Press F1 to change system settings"
The key differs from computer to computer (Del, Tab, F12 etc...)
Once you are in BIOS you can look at your settings and see how you Hardware is configured.
Depending on the model of your computer you MIGHT be able to change your CPU speed, but if it's a cheep computer like mine you won't have the option of changing the speed.

More than likely it might have a setting for power management that you can turn off to get the CPU to run at full speed all the time.

The only other option is to look into over clocking your laptop


Holly crap! I did a quick search and looks like your BIOS has the settings for changing the CPU's frequency Google: Dell XPS m1730 overclock

That's much better than my old computer with all the crazy jumpers.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Holden117  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 543
  • Joined: 16-February 08

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 02 January 2012 - 06:03 PM

View Postcalvinthedestroyer, on 02 January 2012 - 12:30 PM, said:

First of all, I wouldn't ask geek squad, that's like asking my mom to fix my computer.

Check on what Atli said to see how your power management setting are.

Then check your BIOS by:
Rebooting your computer by turning it off then back on.
WATCH for a message that says something like "Press F1 to change system settings"
The key differs from computer to computer (Del, Tab, F12 etc...)
Once you are in BIOS you can look at your settings and see how you Hardware is configured.
Depending on the model of your computer you MIGHT be able to change your CPU speed, but if it's a cheep computer like mine you won't have the option of changing the speed.

More than likely it might have a setting for power management that you can turn off to get the CPU to run at full speed all the time.

The only other option is to look into over clocking your laptop


Holly crap! I did a quick search and looks like your BIOS has the settings for changing the CPU's frequency Google: Dell XPS m1730 overclock

That's much better than my old computer with all the crazy jumpers.


Yah I saw that first and I dont have the CPU overclocking option......

The option is only there if you have the Penryn CPU, I dont have that. Does anyone else have an idea?

This post has been edited by Holden117: 02 January 2012 - 06:01 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 calvinthedestroyer  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 167
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,908
  • Joined: 13-October 07

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:27 PM

Bummer, I know how to take laptops apart to upgrade their processor's.

This CPU on ebay looks like it would be a nice upgrade:
Intel Core2 DUO Penryn T9600 2.8G
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Kilorn  Icon User is offline

  • XNArchitect
  • member icon



Reputation: 1355
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,528
  • Joined: 03-May 10

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:06 PM

It's a Dell. Replacing the CPU will cause the system to no longer boot. Dell is incredibly limited about what they will allow to be changed on the systems they build and this is the reason that a lot of people refuse to buy Dell computers. Even if you do manage to find a CPU that will work together with the motherboard on that computer, you will need to re-install a new operating system as Dell makes it so that the operating system will only work with the hardware that it was originally installed on. If you ever want to upgrade a Dell computer, you're better off buying a new computer. As far as overclocking it, I can't offer any advice on that as I am not familiar with that particular BIOS for Dell computers.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 calvinthedestroyer  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 167
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,908
  • Joined: 13-October 07

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:06 PM

Kilorn:
Posted Image

Now that sucks...
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#9 Kilorn  Icon User is offline

  • XNArchitect
  • member icon



Reputation: 1355
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,528
  • Joined: 03-May 10

Re: CPU clocking

Posted 04 January 2012 - 06:24 AM

Only if it happens while you're using it. If it is planned, then it is awesome. I can think of tons of computers that I have wanted to set on fire over the years. Including at least 30 computers at work right now.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1