7 Replies - 7559 Views - Last Post: 27 December 2012 - 12:57 PM

#1 macb6497  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Host own home phone number?

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:14 AM

It's simple... Right?

Example:

  • You want to connect to a website/phone number.
  • You open your browser/pick up your phone
  • You type the website name/dial the phone number
  • Your ISP searches DNS records for the website's IP address/phone number Provider
  • You get routed to the DNS server of the website/Provider of the phone number
  • The DNS server points you directly to the modem of the server/link to phone hub on switch board/circuit
  • You make a bi-directional connection to the server/you start talking to the person on the other line


It seems that if I can find some hosting provider where you can buy commercial phone numbers, it could may be work this way?

Let's be real. The computers are used to make phone calls are EXACTLY the same ones used to host websites.

It's just as confusing/simple as becoming your own ISP or domain registrar?...

What are your thoughts??

I NEED to know; this would be cool...

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Host own home phone number?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9286
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,804
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:25 AM

I would be careful making equivocations about the hardware.

http://lyle.smu.edu/...cuits-to-IP.pdf


Are you looking on how to make a VOIP setup in your house? You would need to have your number dropped out somewhere for the circuits to know how to get there.

http://www.wikihow.c...29-in-Your-Home
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 macb6497  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 06 January 2012 - 02:33 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 06 January 2012 - 01:25 PM, said:

I would be careful making equivocations about the hardware.

http://lyle.smu.edu/...cuits-to-IP.pdf


Are you looking on how to make a VOIP setup in your house? You would need to have your number dropped out somewhere for the circuits to know how to get there.

http://www.wikihow.c...29-in-Your-Home



I already have VOIP, and that's where I got the thought from.

I don't mean truly exact as in they are are servers or modems.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9286
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,804
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 06 January 2012 - 02:39 PM

Yeah - at the end of the day you'll need to pay someone to have them match up a number to an IP... there's no getting around that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Shane Hudson  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Technophile
  • member icon

Reputation: 343
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,286
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 07 January 2012 - 06:48 AM

One of my lecturers said he has a telephone exchange in his house running freebsd... not sure if this is what he meant though? I will ask him to explain it next time I see him!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 macb6497  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: -6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 07 January 2012 - 06:55 AM

View PostShane Hudson, on 07 January 2012 - 09:48 AM, said:

One of my lecturers said he has a telephone exchange in his house running freebsd... not sure if this is what he meant though? I will ask him to explain it next time I see him!



Please do!!

I already host my own SMTP, POP, HTTP, HTTPS, DNS, RTMP (live feed), FTP servers, and soon-to-be P2P (torrent) servers (to distribute my own content; no illegal stuff going on here).

All I have left to do is create a proxy server (just for fun/knowledge), DHCP server (just for fun/knowledge), and telephone server.

I'm also learning to protocols for becoming your own ISP. This will be for myself and I do not plan on providing for other people. I'm primarily doing it for my web server so that I can have a piece of the internet backbone.

Also, sooner or later, I want to become my own Domain registrar, once again for myself. I'm very serious about Up-time and I like to be in control of things relating to my website. See how that turns out with the new TLDs coming out soon.

This post has been edited by macb6497: 07 January 2012 - 12:12 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9286
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,804
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 07 January 2012 - 12:05 PM

Well.. we all have to have our hobbies! ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Gorian  Icon User is offline

  • ninja DIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 120
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,681
  • Joined: 28-June 08

Re: Host own home phone number?

Posted 27 December 2012 - 12:57 PM

I would suggest checking out Elastix. I would have suggested trixbox CE (Community Edition, their free version), but it seems that they (fonality) are no longer supporting it, and are now only pushing their premium, paid, software.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1