Codeacademy.com, Good Idea or Disaster for Programmers?

• (6 Pages)
  • +
  • Last »

82 Replies - 43077 Views - Last Post: 27 February 2014 - 08:20 AM

• "Hurry up and wait"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Codeacademy.com, Good Idea or Disaster for Programmers?

Posted 06 January 2012 - 07:38 PM

So the KID from that website calls it coding? Hmmm, fine let them learn to CODE. I am a PROGRAMMER no, I am a PROGRAMMING ARTIST!! NOT a coder. I take ideas and thoughts and make them a reality. Just like an artist :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#32 DimitriV  Icon User is online

• >not activating your almonds
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:03 PM

A site like that can't compete with Dream.In.Code - that site is about giving people lessons and telling them they can survive in the real world. Dream.In.Code does that - but it helps with varying programming issues in numerous languages with resident mentors and experts. You can ask a question here and almost always get a helpful response. The VB forums has a pretty good success rate, and I can imagine the rest of them do too.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#33 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 January 2012 - 12:08 AM

POPULAR

I've said this a few times on DIC now, but learning a programming language is but the beginning. You don't get to call yourself a programmer until you've learned a whole lot of: maths, data structures, algorithm theory, finite automata and basic hardware. Only after you've learned the basics of those, and applied them to a number of actual programs (which "programmers" have not, will not, can not do) can you start considering yourself a programmer.