13 Replies - 41404 Views - Last Post: 25 May 2012 - 06:59 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

how to make a gui with c++

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:08 PM

hey well i am new to programing and i need some help how to make a program with a gui in c++

i have google it and i get this windows api and this window.h i don't know if that is what i need :(

i think window.h is a c libary and i am not to sure about windows api .

is there a website or book that can help or a tutorial and if you can please give me a link thank you :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: how to make a gui with c++

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: how to make a gui with c++

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:18 PM

If you mean buttons and stuff, that's a bit more complicated than what a beginner can play with. First of all, you have to realize that there isn't a single way to make a GUI in C++. In fact, C++ itself doesn't even support GUIs. The making of one is done via the usage of an external library. Which library to use? Personal choice. I use Qt4. Some use Gtk+. Others WxWidgets. Look them up. Though be prepared for some hard learning.

If you mean buttons and stuff, that's a bit more complicated than what a beginner can play with. First of all, you have to realize that there isn't a single way to make a GUI in C++. In fact, C++ itself doesn't even support GUIs. The making of one is done via the usage of an external library. Which library to use? Personal choice. I use Qt4. Some use Gtk+. Others WxWidgets. Look them up. Though be prepared for some hard learning.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• spelling expret
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:20 PM

windows.h is the main interface to the Win32 API(the modern windows OS API). we have many excellent tutorials on getting started with Win32 programing.

this tutorial seems to have received good reviews from the community.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• Saucy!
  • member icon