13 Replies - 1446 Views - Last Post: 10 January 2012 - 05:14 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

How good should I be at programming when I graduate?

Posted 08 January 2012 - 09:30 PM

I've been programming for only 7 months (decided to major in CS last Summer) and I have about 3 more years of college ahead of me.

I'm just curious, how much programming is a recent graduate expected to know?

Give me an example of a project that I should be able to handle with ease by then.

This post has been edited by carnivroar: 08 January 2012 - 09:31 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How good should I be at programming when I graduate?

• The Algorithmi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How good should I be at programming when I graduate?

Posted 08 January 2012 - 10:46 PM

The market is pretty competitive, so you have to have excellent problem solving and programming skills. Also don't expect that school will teach you everything, schools merely teach the basics so you can teach yourself whatever you need later on. So I suppose you should have great understanding of programming concepts regardless of any programming language. You should also be proficient in at least one language, and of course have good problem solving skills (in my opinion that's more important than focusing on learning a lot of languages).
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 January 2012 - 04:24 AM

I am currently graduation this year from a sandwich course in software engineering and I agree with mostyfriedman.

I've learnt a lot about coding and programming at university, until this year most of what I had learnt had been the basics, however this year is a bit different but that's mainly because I've chosen effective C++.

I also know people on the course who avoid as many programming languages as they can and end up not being able to programme.