8 Replies - 4390 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2012 - 07:43 AM

#1 jcuson  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09-January 12

windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 09 January 2012 - 08:41 AM

Hey all-

I've recently moved to a new machine running 64-bit win7. I have a forms version of an application (c#) that was developed on a 32-bit vista machine under vc# express 2008. One of the primary forms in the app contains a split panel, one panel of which holds a tab control that is dynamically populated with objects that inherit from tab page and button. This was fully functional on the old machine but on the new machine when the app is started under the debugger the panel holding the tab control is empty. The same code ran w/o problem on the old machine (which has been re-tasked to run Lime Debian, so I have no ability to switch back and forth). This is not an overwhelming concern, because I have another variant of the app under WPF, but I would definitely like to figure out what is going on.

Has anyone had a similar problem?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5676
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,194
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 09 January 2012 - 10:14 AM

Sounds more like a hardcoded path to a data or settings file.

If you make a new user on the 32bit machine does it still work?

If you run it in compatibility mode on the 64 bit machine does it still fail?

Attached Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jcuson  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09-January 12

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 09 January 2012 - 12:48 PM

The old machine is reformatted and runs lmde sole boot. If this were critical I probably wouldn't have done that, but given that the same code ran fine on that machine I assumed that the problem was trivial. I set the compatibility mode for vc# 2010 express to both vista sp2 and to xp sp3 on the new box, but no luck. (I've installed both 2008 and 2010 express to test the versions.) Now I wish that I had built the distributable so I could see if the problem persisted when installed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9573
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,255
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 09 January 2012 - 12:56 PM

Is the project being compiled for 'any cpu' or 'x86' or 'x64'?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 jcuson  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09-January 12

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:12 PM

any cpu
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9573
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,255
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 09 January 2012 - 01:28 PM

Try explicitly setting it to one or the other and testing it out..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 jcuson  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09-January 12

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:07 AM

no luck there either ... just tried a frozen version lacking later functionality just to make sure that i had not made a change somewhere that i could not remember and it does the same thing. i'll keep messing with it over the coming days and post whatever resolution i can find.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 jcuson  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09-January 12

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 19 January 2012 - 06:55 AM

A duh moment :oops: I had a bit of vestigial code in the constructor that set the size of the tab control to a setting minus an adjustment factor, and there was no default value for the setting. As a result, the size of the tab control was a negative value.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9573
  • View blog
  • Posts: 36,255
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: windows forms under win7 64-bit weirdness

Posted 19 January 2012 - 07:43 AM

Well... I am glad to hear windows 7, 64bit isn't the problem...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1