14 Replies - 4736 Views - Last Post: 26 January 2012 - 08:34 AM

#1 carnivroar  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 28
  • View blog
  • Posts: 382
  • Joined: 18-September 11

Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 03:19 PM

I just got a new laptop with 4GB of ram with a free ram port so I threw in my old laptop's 2GB ram card. It works, shows up on system info, but is that okay?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9260
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,746
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 03:20 PM

As long as the RAM is the same type (DDR, DDR2, DDR3, etc) it shouldn't be a problem.

(you would know when it wasn't right - it would beep cause a caniption at boot.)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 Shane Hudson  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Technophile
  • member icon

Reputation: 343
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,286
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 03:54 PM

If it works and is showing up then its perfectly fine! Of course you would need to be using a 64bit OS (not sure if that only applies to Windows?) but other than that, if something is working then it uh... works :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 carnivroar  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 28
  • View blog
  • Posts: 382
  • Joined: 18-September 11

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 04:01 PM

View Postmodi123_1, on 10 January 2012 - 03:20 PM, said:

As long as the RAM is the same type (DDR, DDR2, DDR3, etc) it shouldn't be a problem.

(you would know when it wasn't right - it would beep cause a caniption at boot.)


Yeah that's what I read but I wasn't sure if the two types of RAM are the same. They look alike so I'll assume they are.

Thanks.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 AmbientTech  Icon User is offline

  • I'm an @sshole :)

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,650
  • Joined: 11-August 11

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:12 PM

modi nailed it. As long as it's the same type of memory it'll work. And if it weren't the correct type for your board the post beep would let you know there was a problem and it wouldn't load your OS.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 DimitriV  Icon User is offline

  • They don't think it be like it is, but it do
  • member icon

Reputation: 584
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,738
  • Joined: 24-July 11

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:17 PM

It is more difficult, however, to change internal components of laptops because often bits and pieces are soldered to the board (in my experience).

This post has been edited by jimmyBo: 10 January 2012 - 06:17 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 AmbientTech  Icon User is offline

  • I'm an @sshole :)

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,650
  • Joined: 11-August 11

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:21 PM

Depending on the model, with laptops you may have to disassemble most of it to do the memory. Mine, there's a little cover, so the RAM is easy. My daughters, however, you have to totally disassemble the case to get to it. And they're both Dells. Figures.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5345
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,296
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:22 PM

View PostjimmyBo, on 10 January 2012 - 08:17 PM, said:

It is more difficult, however, to change internal components of laptops because often bits and pieces are soldered to the board (in my experience).


I soldered yo momma's bits.

Anything that's soldered onto a laptop is there for a reason & really shouldn't be swapped. In fact the only items I've replaced (or would recommend replacing) that are soldered would be if the component failed, & should be replace with a new, replacement component.

Items such as the wireless nic, the modem, the hard drive, & so on, are not going to be soldered to the motherboard.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 DimitriV  Icon User is offline

  • They don't think it be like it is, but it do
  • member icon

Reputation: 584
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,738
  • Joined: 24-July 11

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:25 PM

They're all different on the inside, I guess.

View Postno2pencil, on 11 January 2012 - 11:22 AM, said:

I soldered yo momma's bits.

Anything that's soldered onto a laptop is there for a reason & really shouldn't be swapped. In fact the only items I've replaced (or would recommend replacing) that are soldered would be if the component failed, & should be replace with a new, replacement component.

Items such as the wireless nic, the modem, the hard drive, & so on, are not going to be soldered to the motherboard.

I knew that bit, but often the GPU and RAM are soldered on to the ones I've had and dismantled previously. Swapping bits and pieces like that could severely affect the computers performance and stability.
Holy crap - I got that wrong. Sorry for all the confusion guys!

This post has been edited by jimmyBo: 10 January 2012 - 07:53 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5345
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,296
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 06:29 PM

GPU is always going to be soldered, & is only replaceable if you have a machine to reball the board. With the rare exception where the video is on a daughter board, & then that entire segment can be swapped out. This can be done with no ill-effects to the laptop & will not cause your suggested performance or stability issues.

As for RAM, I'd love for you to show me a model with soldered memory. I've had hundreds of laptops apart over the last 10 years & have never seen such a thing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9260
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,746
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:11 PM

I would agree - I've never seen a soldered sick of RAM in a pc or laptop. Pics!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5345
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,296
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:26 PM

Just out of my own curiosity, I asked one of our parts distributors that we buy from for laptop repairs, & after a hearty laugh he said that after looking at (easily) 50,000 laptop motherboards, he's never once seen one with the memory soldered onto the board.

It's just impractical.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 allisonsmith  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 24-January 12

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 26 January 2012 - 03:19 AM

Yes why not.. You can put another ram from another laptop. If that ram types are DDR DDR 1 , 2 or 3. SO it doesn't matter it will be work in your new lap top.





THX
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 calvinthedestroyer  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 167
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,911
  • Joined: 13-October 07

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 26 January 2012 - 07:05 AM

I have seen laptops with ram that was solder to the mother board, but, it also had two sockets for ram upgrades.

Heck, Even the old 8080's had removable ram. I remember upgrading a computer from 128K to 64K!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9260
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,746
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Can I swap RAM from one laptop to another?

Posted 26 January 2012 - 08:34 AM

Just to clarify even with laptops you can't shove a ddr2 into a ddr3 slot, or a ddr3 into a ddr1 slot. I am not sure if that was the gist of allisonsmith's post above, but I wanted to have that out there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1