8 Replies - 1282 Views - Last Post: 17 January 2012 - 10:23 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Do you program outside of w*rk?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 04:44 PM

Before getting my first full time programming position I would code/design websites or various programs that would aid in stuff like online poker, darts and what not.

I've been working at my current job for nearly 3 years. I'm lucky to say I only put in 40 hours week. I'd say 30-35 hours of that is coding/researching production code. 5 hours for testing and 5 in emails/documentation. By the end of the day I just don't have the drive to code.

I'd like to expand my programming knowledge by learning things that I wouldn't come across at work, like ASP.NET, C#, or study design patterns more. I just can't find the time.

How much time do you spend out of the office coding? What's your typical code/test/paperwork ratio at your FT job? Outside of work, are you developing tools for various interests, working on open source, or do you code for pay?

This post has been edited by xnn: 10 January 2012 - 04:45 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do you program outside of w*rk?

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Do you program outside of w*rk?

Posted 10 January 2012 - 04:55 PM

Personally I think this is not a question unique to programmers.

The same could be asked of photographers. Wedding photographers only do a certain style of photography that is less than challenging or creative but pays the bills. I'm sure some do other work for pay, other work for their personal satisfaction, play with other technology that doesn't get used for work: Astro-photography or safari photography or underwater photography.