7 Replies - 910 Views - Last Post: 12 January 2012 - 03:31 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

ICT Scrapped in UK secondary Schools

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:33 AM

http://www.bbc.co.uk...cation-16493929

ICT in UK Secondary schools is to be scrapped from September and to be replaced by a simple Computer science course. I'm currently in my final year at secondary school and ICT was awful, we just sat there learning Word and things like that, when they could of been teaching us about computers!

Thoughts?

P.S. For anyone that doesn't know, Secondary school in UK is from ages 11-16!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: ICT Scrapped in UK secondary Schools

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: ICT Scrapped in UK secondary Schools

Posted 11 January 2012 - 02:19 AM

I was in school around the time computers first became commonplace. I think ICT was far more useful at the time because most house holds still did not own a computer, especially the lower income families therefore basic IT skills where a great use for kids.

These days all these kids have access to computers at home at the very least, so the basic skills are already there. Word and Excel may be pretty boring, but they're very useful to know how to use properly.

ICT has never been about "Computers", it's been about using their common software. Which is why you should never take A-Level ICT if you're into actual computing...
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:02 AM

Put my application form in for college the other week and I put Computing down, I was never going to put ICT down!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:26 AM

I am not sure you will learn a lot in college. Have some friends at different colleges doing Game Development and they are hopeless at coding.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Technophile
  • member icon

• View blog