• +

15 Replies - 4604 Views - Last Post: 17 January 2012 - 01:25 PM

• Catch me As Exception
  • member icon

• View blog

Is learning VB6 still useful?

Posted 15 January 2012 - 05:26 AM

Hello Everyone! :)

I'm 21 years of age and I got a job as a trainee software developer at a software company right after I finished school. I was excited to get into .NET developing. Although my company has been in software industry for almost 20 years now, our moving along with new technologies is a huge failure! All our software is written with VB6! Only now, we're slowly migrating to .NET! I was doing MCTS so I had a basic knowldge in areas like C#, SQL Server 2008 when I joined in so I wanted to do .NET developing. But since I was a trainee, they put me as a supporting developer for the VB6 software. We're doing business solutions btw. Basically what I do is, doing small modifications, database migrations, debugging code (trust me when I tell you, there is a shitload of bugs in these software. :crazy: Its like a QA tester didn't even take a glance at the code! :angry: ) They told me with time, they hand me over a .NET project.

I've been maintaining these crappy old VB6 code for almost one and a half years and I'm not a trainee now. But still no .NET project for me! :pinch: I had no knowledge in VB6 when I started but now I know enough to patch up a broken process. My managers tell me once I learn VB6 well enough, they'll give me a .NET project!

Now I know even Microsoft has stopped supporting VB6 now. So my question is, is learning VB6 still gonna be useful for me or should I start looking for a new job?? :unsure: I feel like I'm wasting my time learning something that's already obsolete. I don't even remember stuff I learned about C# now because I lost the touch.

(Sorry for my lengthy rant. But thought of asking from professionals in the industry before making a decision. :) )

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is learning VB6 still useful?