5 Replies - 835 Views - Last Post: 16 January 2012 - 02:15 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ready to be professional?

Posted 15 January 2012 - 03:00 PM

Good evening,

I was wondering if I could bend the ear of a few professional programmers for there opinion on where I should go next.
I am a sales engineer by trade but I started programming to make our companies new product selection software. I had to program in VB6 as the use of variants was required to use our suppliers dll and I couldn’t use C++ as the purchase of MSVC++ wasn’t sanctioned as we had a copy of VB6.

I always wanted to be a programmer and I feel I have a knack for it. In fact I want to progress for a full on professional. I have aimed to learn C# as I thought it would be a good language to learn and I always wanted to learn the C syntax. I have worked though the basics from the “Programming C#, 4th Edition by Jesse Liberty” but I am not sure if I am ready. I haven’t finished the book as I learn rapidly through trying and implementation not reading what someone else had done but I have mastered the basics.

I am reluctant to leave my job as it is very stable with good progression possibilities. But I don’t get to design programs and code all day which would be my ideal profession. I also deal heavily in project management so designing programs is as enjoyable as coding. I dream about programming and now see everything as objects and how I would define them. I think I have it bad.

In my VB6 programming I have heavily focused on Object Orientated programming. I am clean and concise with good notation and I use a lot of functions and subroutines to avoid reusing code. I try to be as professional as possible in my approach. I have experience in SQL, VBA, complex engineering algorithms and file creation.

Any advice from any professionals would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Ready to be professional?

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online