7 Replies - 1040 Views - Last Post: 18 January 2012 - 09:16 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Will you error-check my error-checking?

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:33 PM

Hi everyone, first time poster here. I am new to PHP and self-taught with a couple of books. This is my first ever PHP project and I am working on a registration form. I have not started in on the MySQL portion yet because I want to make sure the error-checking is right before I move on. These are the fields and the rules I would like for each.

Username (6-12 chars, alphanumeric only. Cannot start with a number)
Password (6-12 chars, alphanumeric requiring 1 letter (any case) and 1 number)
Password Confirmation
Email (I used the built in PHP function to check this. Is it bad?)
Email Confirmation

Here is the only function that is called from outside the file. I copied it from a book. I am aware that there will be a different function for when I start in with the MySQL inserts, but I'm not ready for that yet.

function sanstring($input) {
    $input = stripslashes($input);
    $input = htmlentities($input);
    $input = strip_tags($input);
    return $input;
}

And here's the page content.

<?php

require_once 'header.php';
require_once 'config.php'; #for salts.
require_once 'code.php'; #for sanstring()

if (isset($_POST['submit'])) {
    /*
     * ----------ERROR CHECKING HERE
     */
    $error = $username = $password = $confpassword = $email = $confemail = "";
    if ($_POST['username']) {
        $username = sanstring($_POST['username']);
        if (strlen($username) > 12)
            $error .= '<div>The username you entered is too long.  Username must be 6 to 12 characters.</div>';
        if (strlen($username) < 6)
            $error .= '<div>The username you entered is too short.  Username must be 6 to 12 characters.</div>';
        if (preg_match('/[^a-z0-9_]/', $username))