11 Replies - 1578 Views - Last Post: 20 January 2012 - 08:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

ArithmeticException problem with BigDecimal (I think)

Posted 20 January 2012 - 04:31 AM

Yes I am a student, But no I am not lazy,
Yes I do want to learn, No I do not want someone to just do the code without explaining why!
I have been learning Java using netbeans 7 for the past month. The course we are doing is very intensive and we only have one 3 hr lesson, once a week, for 2 months. In this time we are expected to complete an introduction to java course that others students cover through an entire year. Already in this month from knowing nothing what soever about any programming language i have already completed 3 projects, 1) phone problem (multiple user questions program) with which I had help from a great helpful person on here. 2)bubblesort array (scanner user input then display) 3) Grade calculator (simple math for working out grade, avarage etc.) With this project the question was as follows

Write a program which allows the user to input the length and the width of a room (in cm). The program must then calculate and display the area of the room.

Now get the program to accept dimensions of floor tiles and the cost per square metre. Calculate the number of tiles that will be needed to fully cover the floor. Calculate the total cost of tiles, vat at 20% and the amount payable. Ensure that your program displays all calculated values.

The application should do the following:
a) After suitable prompts, read in the length and width of a room in centimetres (cm).
B) Display the area of the room in square metres (m2).
c) After suitable prompts, read in the dimensions of the floor tile in centimetres (cm).
d) After suitable prompts, read in the cost of the floor tiles in pounds per square metre (£/m2).
e) Calculate and display the number of tiles that will be needed to fully cover the floor.
f) Calculate and display: