Why was DIC offline

Page 1 of 1

7 Replies - 1029 Views - Last Post: 22 January 2012 - 04:43 PM

#1 webwired  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

Reputation: 33
  • View blog
  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: 26-August 07

Why was DIC offline

Posted 20 January 2012 - 01:25 PM

I was wondering why DIC was down for nearly 15 minutes? Lost my post, which I had spent the better part of half an hour writing...
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Why was DIC offline

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10566
  • View blog
  • Posts: 39,107
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 20 January 2012 - 01:38 PM

Moved to Site Questions and Support.

It looks like the web server went down. You can check the status of Dream.in.Code at http://status.dreamincode.net/. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#3 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5522
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,830
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 20 January 2012 - 02:45 PM

All too often I hit POST and am taken to the home page rather than the post I just spent time writing being added to the thread... This has caused me to get in the habit of always hitting Select all... Copy before hitting POST. That way if it goofs I can always paste it in fresh. Just a thought if you want to be prepared for future outages.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

#4 Shane Hudson  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Technophile
  • member icon

Reputation: 343
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,286
  • Joined: 06-December 09

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 20 January 2012 - 05:49 PM

I have the redirect to homepage problem far to often, usually times I forget to copy!!!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 creativecoding  Icon User is offline

  • Hash != Encryption
  • member icon


Reputation: 926
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,205
  • Joined: 19-January 10

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 20 January 2012 - 06:12 PM

Somewhere I heard that DIC does a full site backup and during that the site is inaccessible. Happens to me about 11PM pacific time.

As for losing your post, you guys should get Lazarus. It saves form data so if you ever lose it or get redirected somewhere else, you simply go back to where you are posting, click the symbol at the top-right part of the form, and select which saved form you want to load. It's saved me more than once.

Lazarus for Firefox
Lazarus for Chrome
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1875
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 22 January 2012 - 11:02 AM

What browsers are you using that it redirects you to the homepage? I've never had that happen.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5522
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,830
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 22 January 2012 - 11:12 AM

Safari.

It doesn't happen all the time. Just some times. Which makes it a tough bug to find I know. That's why I never said anything.

Then complicate it with my configuration:

  • RV Park provides great public Wi-Fi.
  • That feeds to my in-house Wi-Fi switch so my computers aren't publically visible and my PC-PC traffic stays off the park network.
  • Win7x64 host operating system running VMware
  • My everyday work computer is then a VM running in VMwareWorkstation.


But DIC is the only site that shows any kind of twitchiness or odd re-directs, FYI.
It only happens from the Post button of the simple reply form, and never from Preview Post or Add Reply on the advanced reply form.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 ishkabible  Icon User is offline

  • spelling expret
  • member icon




Reputation: 1622
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,709
  • Joined: 03-August 09

Re: Why was DIC offline

Posted 22 January 2012 - 04:43 PM

Quote

What browsers are you using that it redirects you to the homepage? I've never had that happen.


Happens to me frequently enough too(particularly when pages are loading slowly).

I'm using..
browser: Firefox 9.0.1
os: windows vista home basic

same behavior described by tlhIn`toq for me

This post has been edited by ishkabible: 22 January 2012 - 04:46 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1