8 Replies - 8683 Views - Last Post: 24 January 2012 - 08:22 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

New member here....Which programming language to learn?

Posted 23 January 2012 - 10:21 AM

Hello guys.I am a 19 year old guy currently studying computer engineering.I am in my 2nd year of engineering and its a 4 year course.As of now i just know the basics of Java and C++ (nothing more than that).I dont know about my future subjects that i am going to study but i am thinking of pursuing MS in the future and i am now interested in going beyond my syllabus.So what do you guys recommend for me???Should i just go ahead with developing my Java and concentrate on only 1 language for now.I did some google search about the best programming languages to learn and the most common that came up were Java,C++,C#,Javascript,Python,Ruby,etc.I am completely confused as of now.The main reason being i dont even know C++,Java (which are in my syllabus) so i dont think i am prepared to learn a new language.What do you guys think of my decision to go further with Java and first concentrating on that only???I think i will also be learning C++ side by side as it comes in my syllabus but not more than that.

Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New member here....Which programming language to learn?

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: New member here....Which programming language to learn?

Posted 23 January 2012 - 10:25 AM

Learn one language well before you jump into others so that you have a good handle on the fundamentals of programming and a single language. Once you get a certain level of experience, picking up new languages becomes more learning the syntax and nuances of each language. It probably won't be so much like that on your second language, but more so when you get to the point of picking up a third or fourth language.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 23 January 2012 - 10:40 AM