9 Replies - 1288 Views - Last Post: 29 January 2012 - 10:54 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 johnjohan1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 26-October 11

Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 24 January 2012 - 11:56 PM

Hi all,

In this game of ours, we have to add this feature to control screen brightness from within the game. It's a tedious task to get out of the game and adjust the screen brightness when they feel like doing so. Is there anyway I could possibly include this feature? We develop our games in actionScript 3.0. Not flash games, but PC games. Please so tell me if I'm not clear enough.

Thankyou in advance. :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Adjusting screen brightness

#2 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 994
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,158
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 25 January 2012 - 02:08 AM

Quote

We develop our games in actionScript 3.0. Not flash games, but PC games.


*facepalm*

Seriously, again.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 johnjohan1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 26-October 11

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 25 January 2012 - 04:12 AM

Oh gosh! Alright, just leave that part. Which ever be the platform, any idea how to do it?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 994
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,158
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 25 January 2012 - 04:22 AM

Do you mean actually change the brightness of the overall computer or just the game itself?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 johnjohan1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 26-October 11

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 25 January 2012 - 05:10 AM

It should ideally only affect the brightness of the game. But I suppose either way is fine. I'm quite clueless actually on which is easier or how to implement it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 994
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,158
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 25 January 2012 - 06:02 AM

In flash you can do this

http://megaswf.com/serve/2013954

I did this using the slider component and colorTransforms.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#7 johnjohan1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 26-October 11

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 26 January 2012 - 11:18 PM

Thank you. I had already done that before. But the problem is, this can only be done to individual movieclips. I have to do this to the entire screen.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 anonymous26  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: -4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,638
  • Joined: 26-November 10

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 27 January 2012 - 04:25 AM

You could try adjusting the light properties in your game world. No idea how to do that in AS3 though.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 994
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,158
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 27 January 2012 - 06:13 AM

View Postjohnjohan1, on 27 January 2012 - 06:18 AM, said:

Thank you. I had already done that before. But the problem is, this can only be done to individual movieclips. I have to do this to the entire screen.


Movieclips! Now I know you're only working in flash.

Okay so you've already done what I suggested, what's stopping you from applying it to all the movie clips in a loop? Flash makes getting hold of objects extremely easy. Chuck them in an array and loop through them applying the colour transform.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 johnjohan1  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 8
  • View blog
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 26-October 11

Re: Adjusting screen brightness

Posted 29 January 2012 - 10:54 PM

Thought about that too, but there will be a hundred thousand movieclips and buttons and what-nots on screen which are dynamically loaded and removed in every frame. So it's not really a practical option. I think I have found a simpler way. We load each level and screen as a separate swf file. If I could control the brightness there, it should solve the problem. Worth a try. Thanks a ton for your troubles though. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1