5 Replies - 745 Views - Last Post: 07 March 2012 - 01:46 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

System.out.println("Hello World!");

Posted 28 January 2012 - 01:53 PM

Hello World!

My name is Thomas, I live in Staten Island, New York. I started programming when I was 11, and had interest in game-design since I got my first Nintendo Game Boy Advanced when I was 5. I loved playing Nintendo games like Super Mario Bros and Yoshi Adventures. I am 15 now.

Anyway, as time went on I started to use the computer more often, I played Command & Conquer games (Red Alert 2, Generals) online. When I approached the age of 9 I was introduced to an online MMORPG called RuneScape. I was addicted. I paid $20 for a RuneScape account off one of my elementary-school friends. It's username was "Canownueasy", after around 2 years of playing RuneScape I discovered RuneScape server emulators (RuneScape private servers) and was quickly hooked into many forum communities that were all about developing such servers. I used servers created by others for my firsts, I figured out how to change texts and names, and learned about using the Java compiler. About a year had passed and I was really into RuneScape emulation, I started to use barebones frameworks to construct servers, and soon created my own frameworks and servers.

In 2010 I heard of a game called MineCraft. I had lots of fun playing it (confused at first!) and started to also make emulations for MineCraft. I realized what I was doing was silly (because the MineCraft official server software was released) and started looking for APIs specific to MineCraft servers. I found Bukkit, and really liked their whole platform for developing modifications to MineCraft servers (and they're releasing their client API soon!). I quickly started to make "plugins" for Bukkit, which many people liked.