2 Replies - 815 Views - Last Post: 30 January 2012 - 10:54 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How does Software Development work in industry

Posted 29 January 2012 - 04:03 PM

I am soon to be attending a few different interviews relating to a development role and wanted to ask some questions about software development. I am in my second year at university and have taken a few modules relating to software development but struggling to see how it all fits together.

When I create software I am often tasked to follow the whole development life cycle in a brief way. I am usually given a requirement specification - what the software has to do, design it using UML diagrams and/or pseudo-code then I write the code. I am then tasked with providing test cases so in a way I am following the standard lifecycle: Analysis -> Design -> Implementation -> Testing -> Maintenance.

My design though is generally just pseudo-code on paper and other scribbles. I find if I create UML diagrams (usually class diagrams) or type up my pseudo code then I just end up having to change it. The reason I have to change it is that when I write my code I realise some things don't work as intended, some things could be done better in other ways or my original design in some way was wrong. For example if I create class diagrams and then I realise I need extra or less methods.

My question: does this happen in industry? I assume the design can't be perfect and changes tend to be made? Is the original design updated? How often is the design updated? Is it done in phases? i.e. implement the first version using original plan then design possible changes and implement those?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How does Software Development work in industry

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How does Software Development work in industry

Posted 29 January 2012 - 04:32 PM

Ahahahaha... LOL... That's so textbook.