College freshman contemplating a transition to computer science. Need

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 8713 Views - Last Post: 02 May 2012 - 10:20 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

College freshman contemplating a transition to computer science. Need

Posted 01 February 2012 - 08:54 AM

Hi everyone, i am a college student and i am now facing a very difficult decision. I am a freshman in college studying finance. However i recently discovered my passion for programming. I started this summer studying python and learning introductory elements of algorithms. My school, however, does not have a computer science program. Therefore, if i decide to switch my major, i will have to transfer to another school. As you can see this is a very important decision that i will have to make in the coming weeks so i really need to know anything about the industry. I have a few questions:

1) How can i know if am fit for a career in comp science and if i will like it? I was never really interested in the sciences but i usually did fairly well if i applied myself. I am a fast learner and i enjoy math. I am extremely interested in startups, technology, innovation and the internet. So this is the field i would like to join one day.

2) I haven't taken any comp science course and i have only taken a calculus course that might not transfer in the school i am going. Do you think i will fall behind other students starting the program as a sophomore this year?

3) What do you think is the job outlook for this industry. Will jobs be outsourced? Would demand for software engineers decrease with technology becoming more sophisticated?

4) Would you go back if you have that change? What are the pros and cons of your job? Do you program in a cubicle all day or you eventually advance in some sort of executive position?