7 Replies - 1481 Views - Last Post: 07 February 2012 - 07:31 AM

• The Sum over All Paths
  • member icon

• View blog

Programming as a Career

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:02 PM

Hello DIC,

So I constantly find myself in a bit of turmoil. I am currently an undergraduate majoring in Physics with a minor in Computer Science and Mathematics. My problem is that I find myself unsure as to whether I would rather study physics, or computer science with the intent of being a programmer. I sincerely enjoy the idea of studying in either field, at least as much as one can with limited experience.

Now, I am not asking you guys to make this decision for me or something ridiculous like that. This is not a repeat of http://www.dreaminco...r-science-need/

I would like to gain some insight towards what a career as a programmer is like. I know the little projects I put together are nothing like working in a production environment, so I would like to know a little about what the professionals do. I know this question is rather subjective, but I imagine there are certain things about being a programmer that many programmers love or hate.

I ask this question because I am not blind to the fact that there is a difference between knowing how to program and being a programmer. What the latter entails though, I am not really sure.

Have a great weekend everyone, and to those of you that reply thanks for taking the time.

-alias

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming as a Career

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming as a Career

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:31 PM

You aren't hired by the programming industry. You are hired by a company.

There is no standard for "what is it like to be a programmer" any more than there is a standard for any other job.

A programmer in company 'a' is different than a programmer for company 'b'