3 Replies - 1756 Views - Last Post: 07 February 2012 - 09:38 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question sending a form via cfmail to adresses depending on last name

Posted 06 February 2012 - 04:07 PM

I have a form I need to send via cfmail to certain addresses depending on the first letter of the last name on the form. I am a new to coldfusion in need of some help. not sure how to go about it. I have some code, but as I said I am new to coldfusion and was tasked with this project. I don't expect someone to do it for me, I just would appreciate some help of any kind.

<cfif Left(form.LAST_NAME, A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H)>
		  <CFMAIL TO="person1@bob.org"
            FROM="#form.EMAIL#"
            etc...
          </CFMAIL>
    <cfelseif Left(form.LAST_NAME, I,J,K,L,M,N,O,P)>
    	  <CFMAIL TO="person2@bob.org"
            FROM="#form.EMAIL#"
            etc...
          </CFMAIL>
    <cfelseif Left(form.LAST_NAME, Q,R,S,T,U,V,W,X,Y,Z) >
    	  <CFMAIL TO="person3@bob.org"
            FROM="#form.EMAIL#"
            etc...
          </CFMAIL>
    <cfelse>
    	  <CFMAIL TO="person4@bob.org"
            FROM="#form.EMAIL#"
            etc...
          </CFMAIL>
    </cfif>

Please Help! Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question sending a form via cfmail to adresses depending on last name

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Question sending a form via cfmail to adresses depending on last name

Posted 07 February 2012 - 07:55 AM

Welcome to DIC matttolman!

I'm not sure we can help you as you haven't really described a particular problem as yet. Looking at the code sample you included, I can tell you your IF checks are going to fail though. Taking the first one, for example:
<cfif Left(form.LAST_NAME, A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H)>