5 Replies - 1182 Views - Last Post: 09 February 2012 - 10:28 AM

#1 RandomlyKnighted  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 116
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,358
  • Joined: 14-January 10

Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

Posted 08 February 2012 - 08:21 PM

Hi, I'm wanting to get started with XNA Game development and was looking to see if any extra hardware was required for me to test. If so then I wanted to buy the hardware before I get started that way I wouldn't have to wait a while just to get started testing. I'd seen where you can connect the Xbox to the XNA Game Studio but it requires you to have a hard drive for your Xbox 360. I currently have the 4GB Xbox 360 with Kinect so I don't have an actual hard drive. What size hard drive do you recommend for game development? I don't know how much space these games will take up on the 360's hard drive so I want to get recommendations before I go out and buy a cheap one.

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

#2 SixOfEleven  Icon User is offline

  • using Caffeine;
  • member icon

Reputation: 945
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,342
  • Joined: 18-October 08

Re: Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

Posted 09 February 2012 - 05:00 AM

I use a 10GB hard drive on my Xbox 360 for development. You could probably get away with one that size. I'm not sure they are made any more though. I would say that a 60GB would be more than large enough for development. You can get them for a reasonable price.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 RandomlyKnighted  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 116
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,358
  • Joined: 14-January 10

Re: Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

Posted 09 February 2012 - 06:14 AM

Yeah I've been finding 120GB Xbox 360 hard drives on Amazon and GameStop for around $50. I was thinking about getting one of those.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 SixOfEleven  Icon User is offline

  • using Caffeine;
  • member icon

Reputation: 945
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,342
  • Joined: 18-October 08

Re: Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

Posted 09 February 2012 - 06:39 AM

That would be more than adequate. Make sure that it is for the Xbox that you have. I'm not sure if you have a regular Xbox or a slim model. I was looking for a HD for my fiancee's son at Christmas time and found a good one but it was for the slim model and he has an original model.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 RandomlyKnighted  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 116
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,358
  • Joined: 14-January 10

Re: Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:20 AM

I didn't realize the hard drives were different. I have the slim model.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 civicdude95  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 18-January 12

Re: Connecting to Xbox 360 using XNA Game Studio?

Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:28 AM

Why yes they are different :)

Here's a regular 360 HD

And here's a 360 slim HD

Of course, there's always this method I suppose
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1