Browser Games still in existence?

• (3 Pages)
  • +

44 Replies - 2413 Views - Last Post: 28 February 2012 - 02:03 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Browser Games still in existence?

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:35 PM

I had no idea where to post this topic, since it's about a scripting related topic but it isn't about writing code at all.

I am curious to know other people's opinions on the browser game 'industry' out there, whether it be text based, 2D or 3D game. Me and my mates occasionally played games like Utopia, CyberNations and the like, but the trouble is as we get older and more cynical we realise how immature and lackluster a lot of these games can be. I've been meaning to make an browser game, coded largely in PHP - I'm a hobbyist when it comes to coding so I only work on it occasionally. I want to make it innovative and yada-ya but that's not we're discussing here.

Does anyone think there's still a (potential) demand for these kind of games? I looked up eRepublik which raised around 2 million from investment and selling of virtual currency. Articles report it to have millions of visits each month during its peak in ~2009. I checked the game out and it felt like a pile of cack - a great concept with poor delivery - and I started to wonder who the hell decided to invest so much money in such a venture. I checked its traffic on Google ad planner and it was in the 20,000s for monthly traffic.

I don't expect to make any money from a future browser game, I just want to know if there's any point in making one.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Browser Games still in existence?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Browser Games still in existence?

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:38 PM

I don't expect to make any money from a future browser game, I just want to know if there's any point in making one.