3 Replies - 959 Views - Last Post: 15 February 2012 - 07:45 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Prolog List

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:01 PM

I'm new to Prolog and I am having difficulty understanding it. I am supposed to take a list and reverse, which I would find easy enough to do in another language (like C), but with Prolog I am lost. I looked at the information on recursion, and I don't even understand that. Here is the code we were given:

member(X,[X|_]).
member(X,[_|Y]) :- member(X,Y).

I understand the idea of a head and a tail. I know that the first part of the code searches for a member in the head. That makes sense to me. The second part is recursive, and I don't really understand it. I know what it's doing (removing the head and making the next item in the list the new head) because that it stated for us, but I don't understand how that code accomplishes that.

Moreover, I have no idea how to actually reverse the list. Normally, I would try to determine how many items are in the list, store each one as a variable and output them in reverse, but in Prolog I don't know how to do most of that. This is homework, so I am not looking for someone to do it for me. Help understanding would be greatly appreciated, though. Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Prolog List

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Prolog List

Posted 15 February 2012 - 07:01 PM

You shouldn't think of Prolog code as "doing" anything. Prolog code does not describe a set of actions - it describes the result. In this the code for member describes when something is a member of a list.