6 Replies - 971 Views - Last Post: 19 February 2012 - 09:19 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Languages needed to enter a hack off?

Posted 18 February 2012 - 12:31 PM

My school is hosting a hack off next month and I want to join but I only know C++ and HTML and I am still fairly new to C++. I want to be prepared next year, can anyone tell me what languages and experience i will need to have? The competition includes:
Researching and Building an API
Developing a Mobile App
Developing a next-iteration module for an existing product or platform
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Languages needed to enter a hack off?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Languages needed to enter a hack off?

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:01 PM

UPDATE: Its officially called a hackathon. sorry
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:12 PM

How are we supposed to know about your school's hackoff? Does the hackoff have a website with this information? Programming competitions generally don't limit the languages that can be used, but that's not necessarily the case for your school. The most popular mobile programming languages are Java (Android) and Objective-C (iPhone).
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:36 PM

View Postblackcompe, on 18 February 2012 - 01:12 PM, said:

How are we supposed to know about your school's hackoff? Does the hackoff have a website with this information?

Here is the website http://nkuhackathon.eventbrite.com/ but there is little to no information. That's the only info we get until the day of. I was just curious in general what hackathons consisted of. Im really new to the concept and had no idea.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 February 2012 - 06:46 PM