6 Replies - 1239 Views - Last Post: 01 March 2012 - 05:34 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Junior Java Coders interested in Game Dev wanted!

Posted 26 February 2012 - 12:45 PM

Hello fellow Java enthusiasts :)

I am a hobbyist Java programmer with over two years experience in coding, and I'm looking for other people interested in starting a career in Java game development for mobile device and internet games, such as Android or Facebook.

I believe I am close to the level of Oracle Certified Associate, if not, better than, and I have worked through various textbooks on Java 7, so I'm not completely useless. However, the primary reason for me looking for other people of my level in Java (or better) is so I can get a real feel for what it's like to collaborate on a project from design to completion.

I'm sure if you're anything like me, you'll have finished a course on programming and be looking for work but having no success, or maybe you've been coding for years and just never took the leap into making a career out of it. Something you'll find when looking for Java jobs is they always ask for "experience", and if you're fresh out of University or have no prior work experience in Java, you're automatically put into the bin pile.

However, if you are able to send a completed application to them and say "Me and 5 others made this, and we worked as a team to accomplish this and here are my references." Then that's a massive plus point on your CV, and would of course count towards your work experience. Employers look very hard at not only your ability to code, but your ability to code with others, and whatever project we complete would be priceless in this respect.

So, if you're looking to improve your CV or just want to join in on a game development project for your own personal enjoyment, reply to this post or PM me (not both, the mods hate that) and I'll be in touch within a day or so.

I hope to hear from you soon!
Dan.